Skip to main content

WHAT YOU WILL LEARN

Communication Studies is not just about making speeches. In NKU's program, you'll study human interaction in all its many forms — from interpersonal to cross-cultural, from effective listening to argumentation, from conflict mediation to family dynamics.

 

 

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder

CAREER PATHS

 

A Communication Studies degree prepares students for the art and skill of human interaction in a variety of contexts from interpersonal relationships to conflict mediation, leading to positions such as:
 

  • Presentation Specialist
  • Corporate Trainer
  • Social Media Coordinator
  • Regional Sales Director

CO-OP OPPORTUNITIES


Whatever your career focus, you can gain valuable on-the-job experience in an internship or co-op arranged through NKU Career Services.

NKU students are gaining professional experience with area businesses such as Duke Energy, Fidelity Investments, The Cincinnati Reds, Hewlett-Packard, Kroger, Procter & Gamble and The Cincinnati Bengals.


COMMUNICATION STUDIES FACULTY

PROGRAM DIRECTOR

cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Andrea Lambert South

Andrea Lambert South, Ph.D.

Professor, Communication
Communication Studies Program Director
Health Communication Program Director

GH 422
859-572-6615
lamberta3@nku.edu

Bio

Dr. Lambert South is a Full Professor in Communication Studies. She received her PhD in Family Communication from the University of Denver, her MA in Interpersonal Communication from Texas Tech University, and her BA in Communication and Psychology from the University of Kansas. Dr. Lambert South recently completed a JD from Chase College of Law and is licensed to practice law in Kentucky. Her areas of expertise include divorce, stepfamilies, co-parenting, family favoritism, juvenile justice, and conversations surrounding death. Professor Lambert South is widely involved in the NKU community both on- and off-campus. In addition to serving as a board member and mediator for the Northern Kentucky Alternative Dispute Resolution Center, she is the NKU IRB Chair. She is also the director of the Communication Studies and Health Communication programs. Dr. Lambert South is an active force in the communication discipline and has served as the Chair of the Family Communication and Master’s Education divisions for the National Communication Association. She has also served as the Chair of the Interpersonal and Small Group Interest Group for the Central States Communication Association. She is active on numerous review boards and is on the editorial board for the Journal of Family Communication, Women and Language, and the Journal of Communication Pedagogy.

Dr. Lambert South's research program examining divorce, favoritism, death, and adolescent treatment has yielded over 75 competitively selected papers at international, national, and regional conferences (including top paper designations) and has led to publications in journals such as the Journal of Divorce and Remarriage, the Journal of Family Communication, Death Studies, Communication Research Reports, Behavioral Sciences, and Qualitative Research Reports.

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder

FULL-TIME FACULTY

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
headshot photo of Randy Brandt

D. Randall Brandt, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Practice

GH 514
859-572-5428
brandt1@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
headshot photo of Jacqueline Emerine

Jacqueline Emerine, Ph.D.

Associate Professor,
Public Relations

GH 436
859-572-7553
mcnallyj1@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Stephen Johnson

Stephen Johnson

Lecturer II
Speech Apprehension Coordinator

GH 437
859-572-7678
johnsonste@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Mark Leeman

Mark Leeman, Ph.D.

Associate Professor,
Communication Studies

GH 538
859-572-7550
leemanm1@nku.edu

headshot photo of Michele Crowley

Michelle Crowley, M.A.

Lecturer, Communication Studies

GH 551
859-572-6614
crowleym1@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
headshot photo of Dan Ginn

Dan Ginn

Lecturer, Communication
COI Academic Advisor

GH 404B
859-572-1999
ginnd2@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Stephanie Klatzke

Stephanie Klatzke, Ph.D.

Associate Dean, College of Informatics
Associate Professor, Comm. Studies

GH 500D
859-572-6903
klatzkes1@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of J. Michael Skaggs

J. Michael Skaggs, M.A.

Lecturer II, Communication Studies
CMST 110 Coordinator

GH 447
859-572-5836
skaggsj@nku.edu

 

headshot photo of Whittney Darnell

Whittney Darnell, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Health Comm.

GH 547
859-572-1329
darnellw1@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Zach Hart

Zach Hart, Ph.D.

Professor, Public Relations
Public Relations Program Director 

GH 434
859-572-5573
hartz@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Jessica Kratzer

Jessica Kratzer, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Comm. Studies
Graduate Program Director

GH 459
859-572-7933
kratzerj1@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Stephen Yungbluth

Stephen Yungbluth, Ph.D.

Department of Communication Chair
Professor, Communication Studies

GH 400B
859-572-5672
yungbluths1@nku.edu

headshot photo of Crystal Daugherty

Crystal Daugherty, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Communication

GH 432
859-572-1962
daughertyc3@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
headshot photo of Jeff Fox

Jeff Fox, M.A.

Lecturer,
Communication Studies

GH 557
859-572-5975
foxj@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Sam Lapin

Samuel Lapin, M.A.

Senior Lecturer,
Communication Studies

GH 566
859-573-5645
lapin@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder

PART-TIME FACULTY

cq-text-component-placeholder
headshot photo of Randy Brandt

Maci Alf

Part-Time Faculty
(859) 572-5436
alfm1@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
headshot photo of Dan Ginn

Megan Cole

Part-Time Faculty
(859) 572-5436
colem8@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Zach Hart

Durell "Butch" Hamm

Part-Time Faculty
(859) 572-5436
hammd@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Sam Lapin

Christopher Miller

Part-Time Faculty
859-573-5436
millerc11@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Andrea

Andrea Scheu-Worrix

Part-Time Faculty
859-572-5436
scheua@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Daryl

Daryl W. Wiesman, Ph.D.

Part-Time Faculty
(859) 572-5436
wiesmand3@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Steven Weiss

Steven Weiss

Part-Time Faculty
859-572-5436
weiss@nku.edu

headshot photo of Flynn Ashley

Flynn Ashley

Part-Time Faculty
(859) 572-5436
ashleyp1@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
headshot photo of Jacqueline Emerine

Michelle Deeley Wilhite

Part-Time Faculty
(859) 572-5436
deeleym@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Lisa Mckale

Lisa McKale

Part-Time Faculty
(859) 572-5436
mckalel1@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Lauren Mohr

Lauren Mohr

Part-Time Faculty
859-572-5436
mohrl1@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Andrea

Annette Shumard 

Part-Time Faculty
859-572-5436
shumarda1@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Anne Thompson

Kelley Wainscott

Part-Time Faculty
(859) 572-5436
wainscottk1nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Lori Wheeler

Lori Wheeler

Part-Time Faculty
859-572-5436
wheelerl1@nku.edu

photo of Josh Blair

Josh Blair 

Part-Time Faculty
(859) 572-5436
blairjo@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
headshot photo of Sherry Farley

Sherri Farley

Part-Time Faculty
(859) 572-5436
farleys1@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Stephanie Klatzke

Sharmaine McLaren

Part-Time Faculty
859-572-5436
mclarens1@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Jason Mossman

Jason Mossman

Part-Time Faculty
859-572-5436
mossmanj1@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Anne Thompson

Anne Thompson 

Part-Time Faculty
859-572-5436
thompsona23@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Lawrence Travis

Emma Walker

Part-Time Faculty
859-572-5436
walkere8@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
headshot photo of Crystal Daugherty

Robert Bodle

Part-Time Faculty
(859) 572-5436
bodler1@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
headshot photo of Dan Ginn

Kimberly Grillot

Part-Time Faculty
(859) 572-5436
wilsonkim@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Jessica Kratzer

AJ Miller

Part-Time Faculty
859-572-5436
millera5@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Jason Mossman

Leighann Rechtin

Part-Time Faculty
859-572-5436
rechtinl1@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Lawrence Travis

Lawrence Travis

Part-Time Faculty
859-572-5436
travisl3@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Terkerah Washington

Terkerah Washington

Part-Time Faculty
859-572-5436
washingtonte@nku.edu