Skip to main content

WHAT YOU WILL LEARN

The Bachelor of Science in Computer Information Technology will prepare students with practical hands on experience necessary to design, maintain and utilize various computing technologies. Multiple tracks allow for students to specialize in various content areas of interest to them.

cq-text-component-placeholder

Flexible Course Offering

Earn your degree full-time or part-time. We offer classes at times that work with your varied schedule! All classes are offered in daytime and evening hours.  Many classes are also offered accelerated, hybrid format and/or online!

cq-text-component-placeholder

Outstanding Career Preparation

This program provides you with hands-on lab experiences in all courses.  Build on your academic success by engaging in our student organizations, on campus competitions, and internship and co-op opportunities including virtual co-op programs. 

CO-OP OPPORTUNITIES

Whatever your career focus, you can gain valuable on-the-job experience in an internship or co-op arranged through NKU Career Services.

NKU students are gaining professional experience with area businesses such as Duke Energy, Fidelity Investments, The Cincinnati Reds, Hewlett-Packard, Kroger, Procter & Gamble and The Cincinnati Bengals.

cq-text-component-placeholder

Job Prospects for Today and Tomorrow

Apply your education, skills and experiences gathered at NKU to launch your careers in the tech field.  These positions are in high demand locally and nationally with projected increases for at least the next 10 years.

CAREER OUTLOOK

With the field of computer information technology being one of the fastest growing in the world, this degree prepares students to solve real-world problems in a variety of computing technologies. Potential careers include: Network Systems Administrator, Web Administrator, Database Administrator, and Computer Security Specialist.

COMPUTER INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY FACULTY

Program Director

cq-text-component-placeholder
Photo of Tony Tsetse

Anthony Tsetse, DSc

Assistant Professor

GH 463
859-572-7931
tsetsea1@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder

Full-Time Faculty

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
Photo of Ankur C.

Ankur Chattopadhyay, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Program Coordinator of BS Cybersecurity

GH 430
859-572-5169
chattopada1@nku.edu

photo of Wei Hao

Wei Hao, Ph.D.

Professor
Director, M.S. in C.S. & M.S. in C.I.T.

GH 518
859-572-5659
haow1@nku.edu

Photo of Yi Hu

Yi Hu, Ph.D.

Professor

GH 461
859-572-7739
huy1@nku.edu

Photo of Awad Mussa

Awad Mussa, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor


GH 506
859-572-7922
mussaa1@nku.edu

Photo of MD Rana

Md Shohel Rana, Ph. D.

Visiting Assistant Professor

GH 535
859-572-1307
ranam2@nku.edu

Photo of Ken Roth

Ken Roth, M.B.A., M.S.

Assistant Professor of Practice
CIT 447 Course Coordinator 

GH 535
859-572-5243
rothk2@nku.edu

Photo of Emily Taylor

Emily Taylor, M.S.

Lecturer
CIT 130 Course Coordinator

GH 508
859-572-5429
taylore17@nku.edu

Photo of Cynthia Thomas

Cynthia Thomas, M.S. 

Lecturer
CIT 285 Course Coordinator

GH 531
859-572-7937
thomasc5@nku.edu

Photo of Bradford Thomas

Bradford Thomas, MSCIT

Lecturer
Lab Manager

GH 468
859-572-6662
thomasbra@nku.edu

Photo of Marius Truta

Marius Truta, Ph.D.

Professor
Assistant Chair of Computer Science

GH 575
859-572-7551
trutat1@nku.edu

Photo of Tony Tsetse

Anthony Tsetse, DSc

Assistant Professor
Program Coordinator B.S. in C.I.T.

GH 463
859-572-7931
tsetsea1@nku.edu

Photo of James Walden

James Walden, Ph.D.

Professor
Director, Center for Information Security

GH 526
859-572-5571
waldenj1@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder

Part-Time Faculty

cq-text-component-placeholder
Photo of Matt Grubbs

Matthew Grubbs

Part-Time Faculty*
grubbsm@nku.edu

Photo of Darci Guriel

Darci Guriel

Part-Time Faculty*
CIT 470 Course Coordinator
gurield1@nku.edu

Photo of Pak Kwan

Pak Kwan

Part-Time Faculty*
kwanp1@nku.edu

Photo of Michael Sweikata

Michael Sweikata

Part-Time Faculty*
sweikatam1@nku.edu

Future Picture of Brad Tepe

Brad Tepe

Part-Time Faculty*
tepem@nku.edu

Photo of Chris Turner

Christopher Turner

Part-Time Faculty*
cturner3434@nku.edu