Skip to main content

WHAT YOU WILL LEARN

A major in computer science requires between 61 and 64 credit hours of coursework, depending on placement. Students in computer science begin their study with a basic core of informatics coursework, then move on to a chain of courses designed to build their software development skills.

The program is rounded out by a set of electives sampled from a variety of application areas (such as artificial intelligence, computer graphics, and computer security). The major culminates in a team-project capstone course in software engineering. Because of the large number of mathematics courses required for the computer science major, many computer science majors choose a minor in mathematics.

cq-text-component-placeholder

Flexible Course Offering

Earn your degree full-time or part-time. We offer classes at times that work with your varied schedule! All classes are offered in the daytime and either evening or online. Some classes are also offered in an accelerated and/or hybrid format!

cq-text-component-placeholder
Outstanding Career Preparation

Build on your academic success by engaging in our different student organizations, on campus competitions,  internship and co-op opportunities including virtual co-op programs. We offer a course in how to get an intership, as well as frequent company visits and mentoring sessions.

READ MORE

Many of our faculty have worked in industry at companies like Cisco Networking, INTEL, GE Corporation and Raytheon/BBN Technologies (yes, the folks who actually created the Internet in 1967!).  We teach here to help you have successful careers in the tech industry! With connections like these we will work with you to find the co-op experience that is the best fit for your career goals.

cq-text-component-placeholder

Prepare for unfilled jobs of today and tomorrow

Apply your education, skills and experiences gathered at NKU to launch your careers in the tech field.  These positions are in high demand locally and nationally with projected increases for at least the next 10 years.

CAREER OUTLOOK

A degree in Computer Science opens doors and provides the path for you achieve what you need to succeed as a  Computer System Analyst (9% increase in jobs), Software Developer (24% increase in jobs), Web Developer (15%), Information Security Analyst (28%), etc. You can find more details about these careers and their job outlooks at

Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook for Computer and Information Technology Occupations

COMPUTER SCIENCE FACULTY

PROGRAM DIRECTOR

cq-text-component-placeholder
Photo of Richard Fox

Richard Fox, Ph.D.

Professor
CIT 371 Course Coordinator

GH 444
859-572-5334
foxr@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder

FULL-TIME FACULTY

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
Photo of Alina Campan

Alina Campan, Ph.D.

Professor
INF 120 Course Coordinator

GH 530
859-572-5776
campana1@nku.edu

Photo of Ankur C.

Ankur Chattopadhyay, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Program Coordinator of BS Cybersecurity

GH 430
859-572-5169
chattopada1@nku.edu

Photo of Sam Cho

Samuel Cho, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
CSC 440 Course Coordinator
Co-Program Coordinator of BS Applied Software Engineering

GH 565
859-572-7534
chos5@nku.edu

Photo of Maureen Doyle

Maureen Doyle, Ph.D.

Professor
Department of Computer Science Chair

GH 400D
859-572-5468
doylem3@nku.edu

Photo of Richard Fox

Richard Fox, Ph.D.

Professor
Undergraduate Program Coordinator B.S. in C.S.
CIT 371 Course Coordinator

GH 444
859-572-5334
foxr@nku.edu

Photo of Chuck Frank

Charles Frank, Ph.D.

Professor
CIT 271 & CSC 301 Course Coordinator

GH 510
859-572-5320
frank@nku.edu

Photo of Wei Hao

Wei Hao, Ph.D.

Professor
Director, M.S. in C.S. & M.S. in C.I.T.

GH 518
859-572-5659
haow1@nku.edu

Photo of Rasib Khan

Rasib Khan, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Computer Science
INF 284 Course Coordinator

GH 573
859-572-6025
khanr2@nku.edu

photo of John Musgrave

John Musgrave, MS, Ph.D. Candidate

Lecturer

GH 473
859-572-6356
musgravej1@nku.edu

Photo of Awad Mussa

Awad Mussa, Ph. D.

Assistant Professor

GH 506
859-572-7922
mussaa1@nku.edu

photo of Gary Newell

Gary Newell, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

GH 449
859-572-5330
newellg@nku.edu

Photo of Shahid Al Noor

Shahid Al Noor, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

GH 534
859-572-7927
noors2@nku.edu

Photo of MD Rana

Md Shohel Rana, Ph. D.

Visiting Assistant Professor

GH 535
859-572-1307
ranam2@nku.edu

Future Photo of Brian Sauer

Brian Sauer

Lecturer

sauerb1@nku.edu

Photo of Yangyang Tao

Yangyang Tao, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Data Science

GH 469
859-572-1453
taoy1@nku.edu

Photo of Marius Truta

Marius Truta, Ph.D.

Professor
Assistant Chair of Computer Science

GH 575
859-572-7551
trutat1@nku.edu

Photo of Tony Tsetse

Anthony Tsetse, DSc

Assistant Professor
Undergraduate Program Coordinator B.S. in C.I.T.

GH 463
859-572-7931
tsetsea1@nku.edu

Photo of Hongmei Wang

Hongmei Wang, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
INF 286 Course Coordinator

GH 532
859-572-7786
wangh1@nku.edu

Photo of James Walden

James Walden, Ph.D.

Professor
Director, Center for Information Security

GH 526
859-572-5571
waldenj1@nku.edu

Photo of Gail Wells

Gail Wells, Ed.D.

Professor

GH 524
859-572-5121
wells@nku.edu

Photo of Junxiu Zhou

Junxiu Zhou, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

GH 451
859-572-6682
zhouj2@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder

PART-TIME FACULTY

Picture of Ben Baxter

Ben Baxter

Part-Time Faculty*
baxterb2@nku.edu

Photo of Chris Brewer

Chris Brewer

Part-Time Faculty*
Director of Innovation & Technology, Informatics+

GH 330D
859-572-7734
brewerc1@nku.edu

Future photo of Michael Clark

Michael Clark

Part-Time Faculty*
clarkm4@nku.edu

Future Photo of Alex Kuhl

Alex Kuhl

Part-Time Faculty*
kuhlal@nku.edu

Photo of Victoria Uti

Victoria Uti

Part-Time Faculty*
utin@nku.edu